Aromatherapy

This is something that I unexpectedly discovered.  I happen to have a lemon-scented hand wash in the bathroom, and noticed amidst all of the unpleasant smells that I’ve been more sensitive to lately, the lemon smelled heavenly.  So I thought to counteract the unpleasant odors, I’d get something lemon-scented to sniff when needed.  Whole Foods sells a bunch of essential oils, but I found that the lemon ones didn’t smell that great.  Maybe the tester bottles had been sitting out for a while.

Well luckily, they had their table with natural soaps and I found one that had a lemon rosemary scent that was really nice.  When I brought it home, I noticed that when I sniffed it, I’d temporarily feel better.  Briefly, though- just seconds.  It wouldn’t be practical to carry the bar with me everywhere and sniff it constantly.

I decided to Google aromatherapy and pregnancy, lemon, and rosemary.  And look what I found:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24829772

At least someone has done a study and found that inhaling lemon essential oil reduced symptoms of nausea and vomiting in pregnancy.  Other sites also mentioned lime, peppermint, and spearmint as aromatherapy scents that can help as well.

I did also come across some websites that said that rosemary essential oil is to be avoided in pregnancy.  Apparently it might induce miscarriage or something.  I’d never heard of that as an obstetrician, and certainly the amounts of herbs used for cooking are safe.  But I guess I’ll avoid rubbing rosemary essential oil all over my body.  I’m sure sniffing the bit of rosemary in my soap isn’t a big deal.

Leave a Reply

