Cheese Puffs

Mindy Kaling recently tweeted that “One embarrassing Hollywood thing about me is I’m into the organic or homemade versions of popular junk food.”  That’s totally what I’ve been doing lately.  I can’t get enough of whatever organic/non-GMO fancy cheese puffs I can find.  I mean, it’s not like I’m eating the questionable chemicals in Flamin’ Hot Cheetos, right?

Day after day of feeling queasy most of my waking hours, and having to force myself to stop eating well before I’m full, has been taking its toll.  I can’t wait till I can eat normally again.  So for now, what little at a time I can eat, I admit I’ve been eating cheese puffs and other very non-Paleo foods.

In the past, I’ve had issues with worrying too much about my weight, and obsessing over what I’m eating.  So it does bother me that now I’m so focused on food and eating all the time.  And it’s an unhealthy mindset to feel like I can sort of eat what I want because I can’t eat enough to gain weight.  Since I can’t eat as much as I normally do, I’ve plateaued at 5 lbs. less than my baseline weight.

I realize it’s not exactly the best thing to be eating junk food (even if it’s the fancy kind), but I feel so gross most of the time, I just want to eat whatever makes me feel temporarily better.  And at some point, when I do finally feel better, I intend to go back to healthier eating for the sake of my fetus.  That is, after I get some gluttonous eating out of my system.

4 thoughts on “Cheese Puffs

  1. Dee March 1, 2015 / 7:08 am

    Sorry you’ve been feeling so queasy! I know that is a horrible feeling. Here’s a list of things that have helped me & my friends iin case they might work for you (a little less non-paleo than cheese puffs anyway):
    Premium brand saltine crackers with the higher salt content
    candied ginger
    Canada Dry ginger ale or Reed’s Ginger Brew (both with real ginger but the second is so intense it might make nausea worse for some people)
    iced peppermint tea, a little weak (add extra water)
    peppermint hard candy to suck on
    lemon and raspberry hard candies
    mint chocolate chip ice cream ( a “natural” or high quality brand with real mint)
    vanilla ice cream
    cantaloupe, honeydew, and cucumber chunks (no peel) kept in the fridge for quick access
    gingersnap cookies

    Like

    • Paleo OB March 7, 2015 / 7:39 am

      Thanks for the help! At this point, I’ve gotten so sick of ginger but I have found that mint and lemon are helpful alternatives. Hope others can benefit from the tips as well.

      Like

  2. Kristyan Frogley Williams March 1, 2015 / 12:05 pm

    I know when you are pregnant, unsolicited advice rolls in from every corner. Since you are an OB, maybe less so. I received an invaluable bit of info from my Midwife during the first trimester of my 4th pregnancy that I thought I’d pass along. First thing in the morning, before eating, stand near the toilet and chug a glass of warm water. This will simultaneously dilute the extra bile that is produced during this phase of pregnancy and induce the expulsion of it. (Hence being near a toilet.) I found that once I had completed this as my morning ritual, I could eat whatever I wanted in whatever amounts very comfortably until well into the afternoon. I could gauge by the way I felt each morning to know when I didn’t need to do this anymore. It has helped myself and so many of my friends through their early trimesters!
    Best of health to you!

    Like

    • Paleo OB March 7, 2015 / 8:00 am

      Very interesting- I’d never heard of that before. For me, I never actually vomited, and my symptoms were better in the mornings and worse in the evenings. While that method may not work for me, if it does help some women I’m all for it. It seems benign enough to try, and I know how desperate one feels to find anything that works! Thanks for the help!

      Like

Leave a Reply

