Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

March 17 is special to me not just because everyone wears green and drinks Guinness.  And according to my patient’s 5 year old today, the leprechauns messed up the whole classroom, so she and her classmates had to clean it all up.  I didn’t have a work-appropriate green shirt to wear today, but I wore green underwear because I still have a fear of being pinched.

What’s really special about today is that it’s my 3 year anniversary of starting the Primal lifestyle.  And it happens to be our friends’ 3rd wedding anniversary.  The day my husband and I attended their wedding, I decided to just go for it.  Ok, I might have had a little taste of their wedding cake, but that was the day I officially decided to cut the carbs and sugar.

Three years later, I must admit that I haven’t stayed faithful to the diet lately, just based on how I’ve been feeling.  But it’s still something I now consider to be a permanent lifestyle.  I may veer off the path sometimes, but it’s no longer just about the food.  I now meditate each morning, make it a priority to get enough sleep, and make an effort to exercise regularly.  I am conscious of what I put in my body besides food, like using glass instead of plastic containers to store food when possible.  I think about the beauty products I use.  I appreciate getting out into nature, and the company of my friends and loved ones.

And despite my recent non-adherence to the diet, I still fully believe that it’s a healthier way of life.  And that is why I always return back to it.

Leave a Reply

