Beef and Southern Greens Recipe

IMG_0551

Thanks to my inclination for carbs during this pregnancy, I haven’t been posting much Paleo-related material.  But there is one dish that I consistently find very satisfying.  It’s good for me, since I get protein and iron from the beef, plus it’s got the healthy greens.  Best of all, it’s very easy to make, particularly if you live near a Trader Joe’s.  It’s my husband’s creation, and he’s not much of a measuring type of guy, so I apologize ahead of time since the recipe isn’t super exact.  But it’s easy to adjust things to your taste.

So here it is, the soon-to-be world famous Little Willie’s Papa’s Beef and Southern Greens recipe:

  • 1 bag Trader Joe’s Southern Greens Blend
  • 1 package Trader Joe’s Braised Beef Roast
  • Beef broth, about 1-2 cups
  • Tomatoes, chopped into large cubes (optional)
  • Hot sauce (we use Cholula), about 1 oz.
  • Garlic powder, heaping teaspoon

Here are the two main ingredients that you can find at Trader Joe’s:

Southern Greens BlendBraised Beef Roast

First, take about a cup or two of beef broth, enough to cook the greens in a large pot.  Just take the bag of greens, empty it into the pot with the broth, and boil until the greens shrink down and wilt.  If you’re adding some tomatoes, feel free to add them now.

Now open the package of beef, and if you’re lazy like me I just plop the whole sucker in there, including the sauce.  I later break it up into smaller pieces in the pot.  Or if you prefer, you can cut up the beef into smaller pieces before adding it to the pot.

Now for the seasoning.  We have a 5 oz. bottle of Cholula hot sauce, and I’d say my husband adds about an ounce of it, as well as a little of the Cholula Chipotle variety we have in our kitchen.  I have no idea about the hotness of Cholula compared to other hot sauces, so if you’re working with something else, it’s always safe to add conservatively and you can always add more.  My tolerance for spice is medium- I can take some heat, but when my Indian friends say, “Don’t worry, it’s not that hot” I have learned to never trust them.

My husband likes more spice, so he’ll add a little cayenne as well.  I don’t find it necessary.  Once you’ve added the hot sauce to your liking, then add a heaping teaspoon of garlic powder.

That’s it!  Then just let the thing simmer for 20 minutes.  If you had plopped the beef in whole, then as it gets more tender you should be able to cut it into smaller pieces fairly easily.  The way we make it, the stuff does get a bit soupy with the excess liquid, but I enjoy that part as well.  Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

